UK election: In a record, 26 Indian-origin MPs elected to British Parliament

A total of 26 Indian-origin members of Parliament have been elected to the House of Commons in the 2024 UK general election, which saw the Keir Starmer-led Labour Party sweeping the polls.

The tally is a significant improvement compared to the 2019 general election, which saw 15 Indian-origin MPs winning the polls.

Rishi Sunak, the country’s first British Indian-origin Prime Minister, conceded the defeat after Conservatives could only win 121 out of 650 seats.

Here’s the list of Indian-origin MPs who have been elected to the British Parliament:

Rishi Sunak (Conservative Party) — Richmond and Northallerton
Suella Braverman (Conservative Party) — Fareham and Waterlooville
Priti Patel (Conservative Party) — Witham
Claire Coutinho (Conservative Party) — East Surrey
Gagan Mohindra (Conservative Party) — South West Hertfordshire
Shivani Raja (Conservative Party) — Leicester East
Preet Kaur Gill (Labour Party) — Birmingham Edgbaston
Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi (Labour Party)— Slough
Navendu Mishra (Labour Party) — Stockport
Nadia Whittome (Labour Party) — Nottingham East
Jas Athwal (Labour Party)— Ilford South
Baggy Shanker (Labour Party) — Derby South
Satvir Kaur (Labour Party) — Southampton Test
Harpreet Uppal (Labour Party) — Huddesfield
Warinder Juss (Labour Party) — Wolverhampton West
Gurinder Josan (Labour Party) — Smethwick
Kanishka Narayan (Labour Party) — Vale of Glamorgan
Seema Malhotra (Labour Party) — Feltham and Heston
Valerie Vaz (Labour Party) — Walsall and Bloxwich
Sonia Kumar (Labour Party)— Dudley
Sureena Brackenbridge (Labour Party) — Wolverhampton North East
Kirith Entwistle (Labour Party) — Bolton North East
Jeevun Sandher (Labour Party) — Loughborough
Sojan Joseph (Labour Party) — Ashford
Lisa Nandy (Labour Party) — Wigan
Munira Wilson (Liberal Democrats)— Twickenham

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: